Lehigh NSF CAREER Awards, 2009-2014

The NSF describes the CAREER Program as its “most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars.” Kudos to Lehigh Engineering’s winners:

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

  • Steven McIntosh, 2012: A Novel Approach to Catalysis for Next Generation Direct-Hydrocarbon Solid Oxide Fuel Cells
  • Mark Snyder, 2014: Hierarchically Structured, Ultrathin Inorganic Membranes

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Shamim Pakzad, 2014: Toward a Mobile Sensing Platform for Bridge Condition Monitoring

Computer Science and Engineering

  • Michael Spear, 2013: A Transactional Software Ecosystem
  • John Spletzer, 2009: Towards Autonomous Wheelchair Systems in Urban Environments
  • Gang Tan, 2012: User-Space Protection Domains for Compositional Information Security

Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Sushil Kumar, 2014: Development of High-performance Terahertz Intersubband Lasers
  • Parv Venkitasubramaniam, 2012: Anonymous Networking with Guaranteed Quality of Service: Towards a Theoretical Foundation
  • Zhiyuan Yan, 2011: An Integrated Framework of Algebraic Universal Error Control for Network Coding: Algorithms, Complexities, and Hardware Implementations

Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics

  • Yaling Liu, 2013: Predicting Nanoparticle Targeted Delivery Efficacy in Vascular Environment through Multiscale Modeling

[Note: David Moore, an assistant professor of chemistry within Lehigh’s College of Arts and Sciences, received a CAREER Award in 2010 for his work in “freeze-frame spectroscopy.”]